Orgullo Awards

The Orgullo Awards were established in 2001 to celebrate and recognize individuals and/or organizations for their contributions, achievements, and support to the Latino community. The “Orgullo de la Familia” award honors those individuals and /or organizations whose work and commitment have impacted the lives of the children and families served by the Coalition for Hispanic Family Services. In the spirit of partnership, they have supported our mission and have furthered our efforts to serve families in need. The “Orgullo de la Comunidad” award honors those individuals and /or organizations that best exemplify the pride of the community and spirit of giving. Their commitment to the Latino community has had a positive impact on the quality of life for Latino families. The “Nuestro Orgullo” legacy award honors those individuals and/or organizations that have had a lifetime commitment to improving the lives of Latino children and families in New York City.



Past Orgullo Award Recipients:


"Orgullo de la Familia" Award

2015  Lilly Leon                                Om Shanti Yoga, Inc.

          Vanessa Polanco                      Verde Custom Flowers, Inc.

2010  Patricia White                          New York Community Trust

2006  Elba Montalvo                          Committee for Hispanic Children and Families

2006  Richard Allen                           American Corporate Benefits

2005  Luz Towns Miranda, Ph.D.

2004  Robin Hood Foundation

2002  David Gould                             United Hospital Fund

2001  Jose Nazario                            Coalition for Hispanic Family Services


“Orgullo de la Comunidad” Award

2015  DBI Projects

         Zurich Insurance

2010  Gordon J. Campbell                  United Way of New York City

          Paul Levine                              Jewish Board of Family and Children's Services

2006  Zarela Martinez                        Restaurateur

          Jeanette Ruiz, Esq.                   NYC Administration for Children’s Services

2005  Wyckoff Heights Medical Center

          Wilson Martinez Del Rio            Inroads, Inc.

2004  Rita DiMartino                         City University of New York

          Dolores Fernandez, Ph.D.         Hostos Community College

          Gilbert Rivera                          Park Avenue Building and Roofing Supplies

2002  Pegine Echevarria                    Motivational Speaker

          Frank Gomez                           Philip Morris Management Corporation


"Nuestro Orgullo" Award

2015  José Nazario                            Founding Board Member, CHFS

Pictures and Video from past Orgullo Awards